DRAMA SCENE FROM TUESDAY WITH MORRIE (PAGE 39)


BY
FIRMAN PARLINDUNGAN

Scene : A Book Store at 9.00 a.m and Morrie’s House at 15.00 p.m
Characters : Shopkeeper
Mitch
Morrie


Shopkeeper “Can I help you sir?”
Mitch “I’m looking for books related to Identity and Crisis, I and Thou, and the Divided Self. Is it available?”
Shopkeeper “Let me check it for you”
Mitch “Thank you”
Shopkeeper “Here you are sir, it costs 80 USD, will you take them all?”
Mitch “Yes please.”
Shopkeeper “Thank you very much for your visit.”
Mitch “You are welcome.”
In Morrie’s House at the afternoon
Mitch “Hi Morrie.”
Morrie “Hi Mitch, I’ve been expecting you and you came finally.”
Mitch “Morrie, I have a queer thing in my head. It’s about the confusion of my age, what is expected of me versus what I want for myself.”
Morrie “Have I told you about the tension of opposites?”
Mitch “I think no”
Morrie “Mitch,,, life is series of pulls back and forth. You want to do one thing, but you are bound to do something else. Something hurts you, yet you know it shouldn’t. You take certain things for granted, even when you should never take anything for granted”.
Mitch “But how do I know that it’s real?”
Morrie “A tension of opposites like a pull on a rubber band and most of us live somewhere in the middle.”
Mitch “Sounds like a wrestling match”
Morrie “A wrestling match?” Hahahah (laugh)….. “yes you could describe life that way”.
Mitch “So which side wins?”
Morrie (smile, crinkling eyes, and crooking teeth), “love wins, love always wins”.

Leave a Reply

